Croissant

So most of my friends think I like French things. I do lah. But not croissants! I like pain au chocolat! When I worked in France I would get up so early and walk to the shop to get a few pain au chocolat for myself. And this was after I had wolfed down 3 or 4 downstairs in my hotel. This particular shop just hits different and closes Mondays so on Sunday mornings I made sure I would get extra for Monday. Otherwise I would have to go to Paul’s. It’s OK but a bit greasy. Then when I walked around Paris during the weekend (which I did every week!) I would get some ice cream at Champs Elysees. The Carette pains au chocolat are OK.

Then Chappy sent me a video about croissants and I told her I genuinely don’t know how to pronounce ‘croissant’ the non-French way.

If the situation improves in West Asia and fuel prices are okay (hoohoo) I think I want to go to Paris this year. It’s one of my favourite cities.

Yummy Yummy

Yummy Yummy (or stylised Yami²) was a dude I worked with. Without going into too many details (with any description the person is figure-out-able), his face card (to me) never declines!! He has the nicest teeth.

So anyway personality wise I would think he is ordinary. Selectively helpful. Sometimes over friendly to women 😜 He is also sporty.

I am telling you this story because recently I had to do something handy around the house and I started singing BABY! WHERE THE HELL IS MY HUSBAND WHAT IS TAKING HIM SO LONG TO FIND ME HE HE.

And as I was twisting and turning a wrench I had bought 2 minutes before, I was thinking if I wanted a husband for some reason (and only reason being doing work around the house heheh) I would choose Yami²!!

But of course we could always call a handyman. I am allowed to fantasize though.

The end.

Except. I think I should text him but it’s gonna sound weird coming from me as I am unfriendly as hell. Guess I need to fix that part about myself.

Chaps

I am so happy because Chappy got promoted at work!

Aside from a Mercedes Benz (at least I don’t ask for a Bugatti?), it’s what I pray for constantly!

Hope she enjoys her piece of good news.

And to the rest of you, please take care 😘😘

The Thing My Friends Tease Me About

Because I am old each time I changed phones or forgot my TikTok password I would have to get a new account. I like watching TikToks but I don’t post on TikTok. Some are really funny and have me guffawing for days.

I have an internet friend I used to talk to on the phone (yay Telegram because we don’t need to reveal our phone numbers!) and my friends who also know him would tease me relentlessly about it. The reason he and I more or less could talk all the time was probably because we are unorthodox and interested in various things. The conversations were never boring. I don’t like talking to people who only talk about other people, and given my nature I would just be frank with my opinion. Like it doesn’t matter to me if you dislike me. We can’t like everyone! With that being said I also don’t care to be liked by anyone.

Our relationship became strained when his wife supposedly kept hitting on me a few years ago. On TikTok! I think for some reason she found me attractive. The feeling was not mutual. People sometimes think I’m posing a challenge to them when I tell them I am single. As if I am telling them to change things for me. No! Leave me alone. But nowadays I am smarter. If it’s somebody I don’t like I just say I have been attached for years. Then I pause. Then they also pause because they think it means I don’t want to elaborate and want to remain mysterious. No lah!

Anyway. Back to the wife hitting on me. I did tell my friends I suspected it was just my friend and not his wife. I knew they were swingers.. let’s not get into it.. this is other people’s lifestyle.. but my opinion has always been if I wanted to engage in naughty stuff I would choose the folks la. Why bother with people you’re not physically attracted to!

I get teased a lot for that! In real life if people like me and are explicit about it but I don’t reciprocate I don’t make fun of them either. You are allowed to like me. But it doesn’t mean I will be bullied into liking you back. So far I have only half strangled maybe 2 or 3 people who wouldn’t take no for an answer.

Also. This has nothing to do with the topic. Saw a snippet of Training Day on TikTok. I used to watch that movie all the time when I was younger. Denzel!! And TIL he won an Oscar for his role. Ethan Hawke was nominated as well for Best Supporting. One time I had discussed the movie with my brother. I said the events in the movie happen in a single day. He was like ‘what’. I said if it happened in 2 days it would have been called 2-Day Course. I need to find where to watch it. It is over 20 years old.

On Compassion, Discernment, and the Limits of Involvement

Compassion is often misunderstood as softness. In reality, it requires restraint.

I am an ordinary person. That means I sin knowingly and unknowingly. I have a mean streak too. The difference, I hope, is that I usually check myself before that meanness turns into cruelty or dehumanisation. A former boyfriend once told me I had no evil bone in my body. I disagreed. I think I do. It simply doesn’t surface unless necessary, and even then, I try to be careful.

Recently, an acquaintance and I were indirectly pulled into someone else’s mess. I’ve had time to analyse it and feel comfortable sharing the story without identifiable details. This is not to humiliate anyone, but to reflect on what compassion looks like when boundaries are tested.

For ease of reading, let’s call them Jason (my acquaintance), Claudia (a woman we both know), and Mark (another person central to the situation). I know all of them to some degree, but we are not friends.

Claudia is married and began a relationship with Mark. While it was described as clandestine, it wasn’t particularly discreet.. they were seen holding hands in public, and anyone observing them would assume they were a couple.

One day, Claudia told me she was pregnant with Mark’s baby and that she had terminated the pregnancy. Around that time, I had learned that Mark was also married. I shared this information with her not to judge her choices, but so she could make decisions with fuller knowledge (because of the abortion I was referring to whether she would continue this relationship). I assumed she might not know his status because I myself had only found out recently.

I left out other details I had heard, largely because Claudia was often spoken about unkindly by others. I don’t participate much in gossip, especially about people I don’t know well. However, the men who are acquainted with both me and Claudia would unanimously say she’s flirtatious and loves attention from men. They did not like this (found it slutty and an ick) but because it had nothing to do with me I just never said anything. With that being said, I don’t trust group narratives easily. Partly because intentions are rarely clear, and partly because many people are braver behind backs than they are face-to-face.

A couple of weeks later, Jason called me and said he had been told that Claudia might retaliate violently against him because she believed he was the source of the information I had shared. At that point, I could have lied and distanced myself from the situation. Instead, I chose to be honest. I admitted that I had mentioned his name, but never with the intention of causing harm or trouble.

The aftermath was predictable. Claudia became angry that people were talking about her. In retrospect, I think what I told her touched a nerve, not because it was cruel, but because it disrupted something she was trying to manage.

Personally, if I were doing something socially or morally complicated, I would be extremely private about it. I would see it as my business alone. Pregnancy, especially under such circumstances, involves deeply personal decisions. To share such information freely, inconsistently, and with different versions told to different people struck me as odd.

Later, after speaking with friends who didn’t know any of the individuals involved, someone asked a simple question:

How did Claudia know the baby was Mark’s and not her husband’s?

When Jason and I eventually compared notes, we realised the timelines and stories didn’t align. To me, she had said the pregnancy was terminated. To Jason, she had said she was still deciding. Given the inconsistencies, we began to suspect that she may not have been pregnant at all, but rather testing whether Mark’s feelings extended beyond physical intimacy.

Whether that interpretation is true ultimately doesn’t matter. What matters is what I learned.

Lessons on Compassion

– You don’t have to help everyone by looking out for them. Some people don’t want help. They want affirmation. If someone eagerly tells you their story, let them talk. Listening without intervention is sometimes the most compassionate response.

– Feelings are not always deep or durable. Attraction, desire, and validation can masquerade as sincerity. When someone wants access, whether emotional or physical, language becomes generous and promises inflate.

– Age, marriage, or parenthood do not automatically confer maturity. Responsibility can coexist with emotional impulsivity.

– Oversharing is not the same as honesty. Sometimes it is a way to control the narrative before questions arise.

– Not every inconsistency needs to be confronted. Some truths only require quiet acknowledgement and distance.

– Compassion does not require self-sacrifice. You can care about people without inserting yourself into their chaos.

– Discernment is not cruelty. Stepping back is sometimes the kindest thing you can do — for yourself and for others.

Compassion, I’ve learned, is not about fixing people or absorbing their turmoil. It is about recognising limits.. of knowledge, of responsibility, and of involvement, and choosing not to harden your heart even when you need to protect it.

Hope you don’t get entangled in other people’s messes. It’s exhausting and we could have used that time for better things.

I am also almost 40 so if I hear ‘drama’ such as unplanned pregnancies (it’s not easy for some folks my age to be pregnant!) I don’t understand what the big deal is. It’s shit you quietly fix. Unless you’re telling me you have issues regulating your emotions because you’re besotted with the guy. I’m not saying I conduct my life better than others (I truly don’t) but there are some things you must know about yourself by a certain age. E.g. whether you’re straight or LGBTQIA.. I am not cool with one night stands now so I don’t actively find dates on online apps where the chances of that occuring would be higher.

Some people are not looking for anything serious and are upfront about it but it doesn’t mean they will treat you unfairly. Some are more open minded and wouldn’t mind taking things further when they realise they enjoy the other person’s company and that their values align. Some, because of their upbringing (especially in Muslim households where sex outside of a marriage is forbidden), would appear to be genuine but all they want is just a quick and thoughtless no-strings-attached sexual encounter. You never know! People don’t always say what they mean and mean what they say! So pay attention to other non-verbal cues.

As for Claudia, I hope she finds peace. Some struggles are not meant to be processed socially, and whatever she is grappling with requires professional care rather than an audience.

My Cat Oliver (Ollie)

This was he:

5 years ago today he died from heart failure. I was of course beyond devastated. Miss this little fella ❤️

Hug your furbabies! I know this may sound lame and probably should go on a t-shirt but here goes: to us they may be a part of our world but to these little guys we are their whole world.

Fartier

Was somewhere near my friend’s house yesterday and she told me to come on down and shoot the breeze. I said OK.

I’ve known her probably for 20 years and her bf used to pick me up before we picked her up and then I would show them bachata moves I learnt in class. Haha what the hell!! I laugh when I think about these things!! I tried salsa but it was too fast for me so I switched to bachata which I enjoyed a lot.

Anyway!

Because we have been collecting common acquaintances over the years we would talk about them if we remember something. But hold up okay. I think I am usually direct when I talk. If I fucked up I would apologise. If I didn’t apologise it just meant I didn’t think I fucked up lah. So what I say behind your back I most likely am able to say to your face. If I don’t think I should say something I just don’t say it and take the high road. And I don’t stir shit regardless clockwise anticlockwise because I believe we are all doing our best and if others have flaws, we do, too so please don’t be a dick unnecessarily.

One guy we know used to post his fluxury goods (just means fake lux) on social media and we would giggle like morons when we took screenshots. I am sure I still have that one photo when he tried to prove the product was genuine.

Maybe you are not aware so as your big sis let me tell you when you buy and pay for genuine luxury (cough) products at the store they’re not gonna give you an ugly receipt (certainly not one with typos such as ‘signatued by’) or an ugly box or an ugly paper bag. Most of the time they will ask if you would like the standard paper bag they give out throughout the year or the seasonal one.. as a customer (oops, client) it’s up to you lah what you choose. And why would you pay thousands of dollars for something short of fantastic? I’m sure there are more difficult customers than I. I usually don’t take the box because I need to stuff it in my Adidas backpack hehe. Not gonna walk around carrying these brands’ paper bags! I think I’ve only taken boxes for wallets and evening bags.. otherwise no. Then you have stuff you buy for fun and personal use because they have absolutely no resale value. That’s another lesson for another day.

I am an ordinary person. I don’t really care for luxury products though I like a few nice things. I also like fonts, looking at brands (more like what they do at their maisons/houses but it’s really just for my entertainment). If I see your fake stuff I will screenshot and send to my friends so we can laugh then I will see you in a different light. What are you trying to prove? That you really cannot afford it? Or that you’re so rich you can buy replicas of a different grade? Eh never mind I see y’all’s boxes I also laugh la.. maybe the printer at Hermes spoilt eh? We can tell lah. I think one can still be classy by choosing a well-made product that is affordable.. that one enjoys wearing or using, instead of buying a fake version of something.

But whatever it is, do what makes you happy la eh.

My Friends

I was just texting some friends back and forth and I was trying to be hesitant. So I used this emoji: 🫦

One of them replied with 👅👅 and I laughed out loud because it’s what they used to text me!! But they stopped when I got sexually assaulted by a stranger last year. I can laugh about it now but months ago I was like omg I don’t want to go out anymore.

Then another set of friends was sharing the songs they made on an AI app. I don’t really visit this group chat because I am friends with 2 of them and the rest are their friends they know from the internet. One of them I’ve known since before 2010. We used to karaoke. I had a lot of karaoke parties in my 20s. I did enjoy those a lot. I still karaoke now and then.

So I was intrigued by the AI app (my friend helped me make my first one) and I have now made 42 songs in the last 24 hours! I told them I’m about to cut an album. But it provided much needed comic relief because I think recently I’ve not been having such a great time. But! We pivot! We navigate. And we will come out the other side okay-er than when we first entered this funk.

I think next week I can share the story. For now I am unable to because we’re dealing with an unhinged person and God knows what they’ll do.

I love my friends and I am happy they love me back.. and front.